Missouri Death Certificates

Individuals may apply for death certificates at the Jackson County Health Department. We offer same day printing of certified copies of death certificates for individuals deceased in Missouri. It typically takes about 15 minutes to complete the request in person.

General Guidelines

  • Must have died in the State of Missouri
  • Certificates date back to 1980
  • Death certificates cost $13.00 for the first copy, $10.00 for each additional copy at the same visit

Payment and Identification Information:

  • Cash, Check, Debit, Credit, or Money Order are the only payment types accepted
  • Picture identification is required
  • Missouri law only allows a certified copy of a vital record to be issued to a person with a direct and tangible interest in the record. The application for obtaining a copy of a vital record requires applicants to explain their relationship to the person named on the record. Obtaining a record illegally is a class D felony.
    • For this reason, a death certificate can ONLY be obtained for an IMMEDIATE family member.

Death certificates may be obtained at the Jackson County Health Department in person or by mail, by completing the steps below. Our hours of operation are Monday thru Friday from 8 a.m. – 4 p.m.

For birth certificates prior to 1980, you must contact the Bureau of Vital Records at the Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services.

If applying in person, please follow these steps:

STEP 1: Complete and sign the Birth & Death Certificate Application Form.
You can view, complete and print the form below, or request and complete the form at our office.

Jackson County Health Department Birth & Death Certificate Application

STEP 2: Provide Identification
One identity document that displays a name and photograph, such as a driver’s licence, passport, or school, work, or military identification is required. This type of identification is preferred and must include the applicant’s name and the name of the company or organization issuing the document.

If you do not have a photo ID, at least two alternative forms of identification must be presented as follows:

  1. Two pieces of mail with name and address OR
  2. One piece of mail with name and address and social security number.

STEP 3: Review the certificate for accuracy and pay the fees at our office.

If applying by mail, please follow these steps: 

STEP 1: Complete and sign the Birth and Death Certificate Application Form.
You can view, complete and print the form below, or request and complete the form at our office.

Jackson County Health Department Birth & Death Certificate Application

STEP 2: Have your Birth & Death Certificate Application notarized.

STEP 3: Prepare the following items to mail:

  • Your payment by check or money order (payable to Jackson County Health Department).
  • Notarized completed Birth & Death Certificate Application.
  • Self-addressed stamped envelope.

STEP 4: Mail all of the above to: 

Jackson County Health Department
Vital Records
313 S. Liberty
Independence, MO 64050

STEP 5: Receiving your certificate:
You will receive the certificate back in the envelope that was provided to us. We process applications and mail them to you within 48 hours (excluding weekends) of receiving them.

For any questions or concerns regarding Vital Records, please call (816) 404-6419 or email our Registrar.